Do NOT support slushozoom.com
Posted on July 19th, 2007 at 6:05 am in |
I was reading some of the comments over at cloverfieldnews.com and read that someone donated money to slushozoom.com to receive some sort of news/info email [source]. I decided find out A.) Why this website is asking for donations, B.) Why someone would be crazy enough to donate to a fake site, C.) This person was lying and is really just promoting the website (which is probably the latter.)
I remember reading somewhere (most likely Cloverfield Forums or Unfiction Forums but I honestly can’t remember) that when you viewed the source of the site, you were asked to sign up for a newsletter and/or donation (via PayPal) and you would receive some sort of “special” email. Needless to say, I went to check that out right now and saw that there wasn’t nothing of the sort there.
The index page is linking to slushozoom.com/donate.htm, which is asking users to “Please Insert 25 Cents for the Bath fund.” Even though 25 cents is a meager amount of change (that and coupled with PayPal fees) if enough people fall for this, the individual will still reap the rewards of its unsuspecting viewers.
Do not donate any money from a site that appears to be apart of the 1-18-08 brigade (which at the moment is only 1-18-08.com and Slusho.jp) no matter what they entice you with.
If you do come across a website that’s giving you the impression it could be related, or it’s asking you for money, stop. contact us with the offending website, and we will gladly look into it for you, as well as post about it here to hopefully prevent other people from being scammed by people taking advantage of the guerrilla marketing going on for 1-18-08.
10 Responses
Nice post, I’ve been trying to get the word out that the site is fake, but I decided to leave the comment that the guy posted and comment on the issue myself so that people know it’s fake. There’s also another guy posting on the cloverfieldnews forums/comments about his theory that the monster is a snake and posting his web address everywhere. He has no evidence to back it up and is just really annoying so keep an eye on your comments.
Yes. If you have any doubt or concern if a site is in game or not, I will gladly investigate it for you. During the Lost Experience I maintained a list of unofficial in-game sites, and unofficial sites. It doesn’t seem necessary yet as there are only two sites.
I imagine after Comic Con, and after we get the official title, there will be tons of new info, and some new sites.
A 4th. digital picture will be posted shortly.
Thank you for finally clearing this mess up.
It unfortunate that people are being tricked by a lie masquerading as the truth.
[Removed by Jordan]
I am not convinced it is real, but I am not sure it is harmful. I did call the location mentioned in the email, it was part of a tour of the backlots and they were doing live filming of film titled Slusho!
yeh that site is a fake one :(
Well, for a fake, its expensive. I gave 25 cents, it was never taken from my account. I did get a slusho t-shirt today and a pack of gum (strange). I keep checking it and 01-18-08, cloverfieldmovie and slusho.jp on a daily basis. The only ones which are updating are slushozoom and 01-18-08. I keep thinking that slusho.jp is updating, but I cant prove it.
How do you know this one is fake? It appears to be having items on it before the known media outlets and the replys are in same format as slusho.jp?
It was around before slusho.jp and Slusho has various “Slusho Zoom!” references, so if anything it’s their fault for supposrting a “fake site.”
psychic medium edwards judi medium psychic